31.8 C
Cagayan de Oro
Monday, May 20, 2024

    Latest Posts

    Globe Media Excellence Awards @10 unveils finalists from VisMin

    Globe Media Excellence Awards (GMEA) @10 proudly unveils finalists from Visayas and Mindanao this year– a roster of exceptional journalists who represent the best of the region, showcasing exemplary skills and creativity in change-making stories published across various platforms.

    The 14 categories in GMEA @10 are anchored on three Globe sustainability pillars: Digital Nation, Care for People, and Care for the Environment. These pillars represent the company’s commitment to achieving a balance among economic growth, social development, and environmental conservation.

    This year’s theme, #OneDigitalNation, celebrates innovations that uplift lives with compassion, care, and kindness, reflecting Globe’s commitment to using technology for the betterment of society. Through technology, the media are able to deliver messages of hope and progress and contribute to improving Filipino lives.

    Following a rigorous selection process, Globe is proud to announce the following finalists from Visayas and Mindanao whose stories have made a mark in their respective categories:

    ● Explanatory/Investigative Story of the Year


    ● Morexette Marie Erram – CDN Digital

    ● Earl Kim Padronia – SunStar Cebu

    ● Ivan Rey Tan, Honey Cotejo, Mae Fhel Gom-os, Justin Vestil, Philip Cerojano and Cherry Ann Lim – SunStar Cebu


    ● Chrislen Bulosan – ABS-CBN News

    ● Nalandangan Aki Saway – BukidnonNews.net

    ● Walter Balane – BukidnonNews.net

    ● Explanatory/Investigative Video Story of the Year for Digital


    ● Eden Aboso – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod

    ● Romeo Subaldo Jr. – Digicast Negros

    ● Sheriza Mae Uy – MyTV Cebu


    ● Ace June Rell Perez – SunStar Davao

    ● Big Jay Lagang – PTV Davao

    ● Regine Lanuza – PTV Davao

    ● Column of the Year


    ● Erwin Delilan – Panay News

    ● Annie Perez – The Freeman

    ● Nini Cabaero – SunStar


    ● Henrylito Tacio – Edge Davao

    ● Henrylito Tacio – Philippine Morning Post

    ● Jinggoy Salvador – SunStar Davao

    ● News Report of the Year


    ● Ime Sornito-Sorial – Panay News Inc.

    ● Irma Faith Pal – Philippine Daily Inquirer- Visayas Bureau

    ● Rosemarie Holganza Borromeo – SunStar Cebu

    ● Philip Cerojano, Mae Fhel Gom-os and Tito Tan – SunStar Cebu


    ● Walter Balane – BukidnonNews.Net

    ● Erwin Mascarinas – Philippine Daily Inquirer

    ● Ralph Lawrence Llemit – SunStar Davao

    ● Newsmaker of the Year


    ● Lourd John Diaz – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod

    ● Rhick Lars Vladimer Albay – Eco-Business

    ● Mildred Galarpe – SunStar Publishing Inc.


    ● Dr. Manuel Jaudian – Mindanao Daily Network

    ● Dr. Rphyndl Nephi-Z Telic Luczon – Philippine News Agency

    ● Vinafel Araneta – PTV Davao

    ● Editor of the Year


    ● Rick Gabuya – CDN Digital

    ● Laureen Mondoñedo-Ynot – SunStar Cebu


    ● Walter Balane – Bukidnon News. Net

    ● Vinafel Araneta – PTV Davao

    ● Herbie Gomez – Rappler

    ● Breaking News of the Year for Digital


    ● Karlowe Brier – Inquirer Visayas

    ● Mae Fhel K. Gom-os – Sunstar Cebu

    ● Laureen Mondoñedo-Ynot – Sunstar Cebu


    ● Hernel Tocmo – ABS-CBN News

    ● Chrislen Bulosan – ABS-CBN News

    ● Krizzy Joyce Daugdaug- SunStar Davao

    ● Social Media Advocacy of the Year for Digital


    ● Morexette Marie Erram, Pegeen Maisie Sararaña, Wenilyn Sabalo, Micah Sophia Marcellones, Vhenna Marie Mantilla, Rhobie Ruaya, Dianne Zarina Savillo, Mark Kavin Salomon, Doris Mae Mondragon, Janne Immae Lachica, Jewil Ann Tabiolo, Delta Dyrecka Letigio, Mae Fhel Gom-os– CDN Digital

    ● Magie E. Maleriado – DYRI RMN Iloilo

    ● Maria Sigrid Lo – Mommy Sigrid – Lovingly Mama

    ● Margrette Ann Sinajon Chavez – Vlogger


    ● Francis Eric B. Magbanua – Mindanao Development News by MinDA

    ● Arianne Caryl Casas-Tumuran – Mommy Ara Casas-Tumuran

    ● Ace June Rell Perez – Sun Star Davao

    ● #KwentoNgTagumpay: Uplifting Lives Through Digital Technology


    ● Vhenna Marie Mantilla – Cebu Daily News-Digital – Individual

    ● Rowena Capistrano – DYRF1215 – Individual

    ● Kim Caluyo – Radyov Bandera Iloilo – Individual

    ● Lourd John Diaz – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod – Community

    ● Angelica Fay Saniel – MyTV Cebu – Community

    ● Rosemarie Holganza Borromeo – SunStar Publishing Inc – Community


    ● Hernel Tocmo – ABS-CBN News – Bayan mo, Ipatrol mo – Individual

    ● Vic Thor Palarca – Agricultural Training Institute – Regional Training Center X – Individual

    ● Jennifer Solis – Brigada News TV – Individual

    ● Jun Arioll Aguirre – Daily Tribune – Community

    ● Jandiane Esteban – GMA Regional TV – Community

    ● Marianne Abalayan – SunStar Davao – Community

    ● Best Blog Post


    ● Mars Mosqueda Jr. – BusinessNews.ph

    ● Leon Manolo Taclino – Iloilo Today

    ● Maria Sigrid Lo – Lovingly Mama


    ● Jinggoy Salvador – jeepnyejinggoy

    ● RJ Lumawag – Kape Diaries

    ● Irene Ascerios – Mindanaoan

    ● Best Social Media Video


    ● Dorel Cabatu – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod

    ● John Dale Salazar – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod

    ● Franco Carrillo – MegaFranco TV FB Page


    ● Hernel Tocmo – ABS-CBN News

    ● Francis Eric Magbanua – Mindanao Development News by Mindanao Development Authority

    ● Alwen Saliring – Northern Mindanao Daily Source

    ● News Report of the Year for TV


    ● Dale Israel – CNN Philippines

    ● Futch Anthony Inso – CCTN Channel 47

    ● Angelica Fay Saniel – MyTV Cebu


    ● Hernel Tocmo – ABS-CBN News / ABS-CBN Corp.

    ● Jennifer Solis – Brigada News TV

    ● Regine Lanuza – PTV Davao

    ● News Report of the Year for Radio


    ● John Dale Salazar – Aksyon Radyo Bacolod

    ● Rowena Capistrano – DYRF1215 Cebu

    ● Joel Franco – DYRI RMN Iloilo


    ● Annaliza Reyes – dxCC-RMN Cagayan de Oro

    ● Rose Bernales – DXRD Sonshine Radio Davao

    ● Renelyn Barbarona – DXDC 621 RMN Davao

    ● Photo of the Year for Digital


    ● Francisco “Ric” Obedencio – Bohol Times

    ● Joselito Villasis – Journal Visayas and Panay Bulletin

    ● Amper Campaña – SunStar Cebu

    ● Ivan Rey Tan – SunStar Cebu


    ● Erwin Mascariñas – Philippine Daily Inquirer

    ● Ivy Marie Mangadlao – Philippine Daily Inquirer

    ● Mark Anthony Perandos – SunStar Davao

    “We are proud to unveil our finalists for this year’s GMEA Awards, who represent the best journalistic work we’ve seen in Visayas and Mindanao. Their stories in print, broadcast and digital have made real impact within the region, giving a voice to the marginalized, exposing wrongdoing, shedding light on important issues, and also inspiring positive change in communities. Our roster of exemplary finalists this year makes our celebration of GMEA on its 10th year even more special,” said Yoly Crisanto, Chief Sustainability and Corporate Communications Officer, at the Globe Group.

    Finalists for the i-GCashMo Award will be announced soon. This special award recognizes stories that showcase how GCash, the No. 1 mobile wallet in the country, has transformed everyday living, supported livelihoods, and unlocked opportunities previously inaccessible to Filipinos.

    The awards ceremony will be held in Cebu on March 31, 2023.

    GMEA has been a platform for recognizing the achievements of storytellers in the Philippines since its inception in 2012. The awards aim to encourage journalists and social media advocates to produce stories that promote social good and advocate for the common good.



    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss


    Stay In Touch

    Get updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.