28 C
Cagayan de Oro
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

    Latest Posts

    Savoy Hotel Manila Hosts 2nd Sports Tourism Awards

    The Philippines' Sports Tourism Movers and Shakers will be recognized  during the 2nd Philippine Sports Tourism Awards night at the Savoy Hotel Manila on December 5, 2018.    

    At least a dozen awards will be given to different entities, event organizers, hotels, airlines, government agencies, sports associations, destinations, corporate sponsors and charities in this one and only kind of recognition given to creative, innovative and professional organizations engaging in promoting tourism through sports.   

    Founded by tourism marketing and public relations group, Selrahco, the Philippine Sports Tourism Awards (PSTA) is a result of the Sports Tourism Forum (STF) which had its inception in 2014 in Cebu City.  

    The STF encouraged local sports organizers, government agencies, sports clubs, schools, associations and companies to organize sports events to promote tourism in their respective regions through a series of seminars and workshops. Similar forums have been held in Cebu, Davao, Manila, Bacolod, Cagayan de Oro, Laoag, Clark Freeport, Puerto Princesa and Subic in the past 14 years with several cities hosting twice or more.  

    The STF and PSTA were supported by the Department of Tourism, Philippine Sports Commission and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR)   

    Previous winners of the awards were Clark Freeport (Destination of the Year), Sunrise Events, Inc. (Organizer of the Year -Private), Municipality of Lubao (Organizer of the Year – Government), (Tabuelan 111 – Event of the Year -Domestic), Ironman 70.3 (Event of the Year – International), Philippine Inter-Island Sailing Federation – Sport Association of the Year), Province of Cebu -(Destination Marketing of the Year Ironman 70.3), Resorts World Manila Masters – Event Sponsorship of the Year) and Fat Boy 10s Rugby (Charity Event of the Year).   

    This year's awards have been expanded to include Airline of the Year and Hotel of the Year.    

    "Once again the awardees are of par excellence and this event will honor them for their efforts and professionalism in creating and hosting sports events which have encouraged more visitors, locally and from overseas, to participate," said Charles Lim, chairman and founder of the PSTA and STF.   

    Next year will be crucial for the industry as the Philippines will host the 2019 Southeast Games in several cities spread out in Luzon.  

    Nominations for the 2018 awards open on January 01, 2019 and will close on March 31, 2019.    

    The 2nd PSTA is supported by PAGCOR, Savoy Hotel Manila, JG Summit, Coca-Cola FEMSA and is presented by Selrahco and Primetime Group.


    Latest Posts


    Don't Miss


    Stay In Touch

    Get updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.